Taking Stock


We’ve become encapsulated. Shut off from all else but our own small world.  People barely know their own neighbors these days.  Even families have little if anything to do with each other except for major events.  It amazes me that we still function as a society with so much separation.

How did this occur?

I can only speak for my small area of the world.  Really I’m not even sure if it is as wide spread as I think it is.  Certainly here in the US it seems to be.  But then, how do I know?  I only know a few people in comparison to the vast millions (apx 320 million) of others spread across around 3.8 million square miles.  Using my limited math skills, even if I interviewed a million people (and that would take way to long to do), that would only be .31% of the population.  Considering that, of that number, a significant number might not understand the purpose of the interview or the brevity of answers or could even possibly not answer in an honest and/or forthright manner, any determination that could be derived in a numerical format couldn’t possibly represent the other 319 million that didn’t have the chance to contribute.   So how much would a survey/poll mean anyway.  Pretty much how I feel about polls anyway.  I question if they really represent my or other’s true feelings.

For me, in my honest opinion (as if I would give you anything else), technology is hugely responsible for at least some of this separation.  But then again, is it really technology or the people that use it.  Yes…  it is actually us that are responsible.  You can’t blame email, YouTube, Twitter, Facebook, or other social media (sorry if I didn’t name yours) for your lack of connection to others.  We as a nation have chosen to communicate through text instead of calling.  We are responsible for sharing our lives through Facebook instead of calling our family or sending an actual letter, or pictures to someone.  We choose not to communicate.  We choose not to share on a personal level but rather keep ourselves segmented and privatized.  But why?

How often do you take stock of the things around you?  The people around you?  All that is around you?  Even of yourself?  I’m not talking about how much you make, what you do, who you know or what you have though all of that could be a part of the evaluation.  How often do you take a close look at yourself?  How often do you search your soul?

We live day to day wrapped up in our selves and our own small issues.  We worry about stupid stuff in the grand scheme of things.  Whats for dinner, who’s coming over, who is winning the football game, what are the (insert the name of some famous person/family) doing today or this week, who’s birthday is it this week, whats next on my schedule… all of these are so superfluous to the truth of whats really important.

All I have to go by is my small world.  I can only speak from my experience which honestly is limited as is everyone else’s even though there are those that a wider range to gather from.  I’ve not traveled nor lived in other cultures.  None of us can change any of our past.  Only our future.  Only where we go from here.  Only the choices we make now and from now on.

How long has it been since you took stock?

Maybe its time.

Author: memman

Too much to tell. There is more than what is seen on the surface of any man. Some have more layers than others. I have many.

4 thoughts on “Taking Stock”

  1. Dan,
    It’s been a while. Its good to see you writing again. Very thought provoking.
    I hope 2016 is a healthy and happy year for both of you. I hope you write again soon

  2. Dan,
    I’ve decided to comment here in addition to the emails I sent you. It seems the primary thing you are pointing to here is related to how much we each as individuals, and as communities and societies at large, decide to connect meaningfully with one another. I say “decide” here. But I know large numbers of people probably feel very little conscious decision in that regard (if any), but are living day by day, maybe moment by moment, depending upon the degree of “survival mode” in which they may be engaged. And not survival due necessarily to any immediate physical life threat, but much from chronic social anxieties of various kinds and degrees.
    I am well aware how “encapsulating” oneself can become so automatic when defenses arise. And we are so clever in how we encapsulate, sometimes so deeply masterful at it, that we have done so completely unaware of what’s happened.
    Nevertheless, disconnect has occurred.
    And the more unconscious we are of that, the less we perceive we have the ability to do anything about it.

    In our clear headed moments, I think most of us realize, that connecting meaningfully with others (as well as ourselves) is really the most important part of life. The most important nourishment in living abides in this endeavor. And just as every snowflake that falls is absolutely unique, so are we all absolutely unique.

    Thus it is incredibly frightening to trust others with real vulnerability in order to open ourselves enough to receive this nourishment. Because when we are genuinely trusting with others, and they with us, something very different comes from us than when we are in a more defensive mode.
    And truly, that is exactly what we all need in order to receive, possibly until our cups overflow. Then how easy is giving? Giving to others as a trustworthy companion! That is nourishment to us as much as to others who are present and ready to engage.
    When we are riddled with emotional wounds, which we all have been, those wounds have a way of making us involuntarily less trustworthy in the vulnerable moments of those around us. Especially under stress. Right?

    So truly, there is nothing more important than making those healing, trusting connections when we have opportunity.
    Those are what we can all draw from for strength and nourishment without fail. Even on our deathbed. Nothing will bring more peace, and help create a more beautiful transition into the next realm, than our loving connections. Nothing. It is a timeless gift.

    After all we are absolutely unique. And unless we share that absolute uniqueness with other trustworthy souls, that uniqueness that is ours, will not be known. What a loss! To ourselves and to others!
    How many of us can feel like we are loved, if we secretly know we are not sharing who we really are to anyone, because it feels too vulnerable?
    Then if we feel no one knows who we are, we feel protected. But the curse of that is, how do we feel loved if they don’t even know us?

    And of course without love, we are lost.

    1. Ah Michael… As usual you are so in tune with what I am saying. Yes… I know we have our differences (at least for a time) but usually we tend to wind up agreeing in the end.

      One part that really speaks to me in your response is the part about “riddled with emotional wounds.” Sooooo true.

      Not only have I experienced this… I witness it constantly. I see it all around me. Its one of the things that allows me to accept others for who and what they are. Just knowing. Just being aware. It frees me to see the root cause of the irrational in others.

      Acceptance of my own emotional wounds had to happen first. I had to accept myself before I could begin to accept others. It is my way to show love to them. Acceptance of who they are. Who they are Really! Not the facade. Now I understand. Now I see. I continually hope that others do too. I know you do.

Leave a Reply

