life goes on


I’ve been feeling a bit old lately but I’m enjoying it.  Its a beautiful Sunday morning.  The sun is up and it is beautifully bright.  The birds are dancing around on the bird feeders and splashing in the bird bath that was filled to the brim just yesterday afternoon.  The family dog, special in his own right, prances across the yard leaping like a rabbit in an attempt to some how play with and catch a squirrel.  He’d climb the tree with them if he could.  Really, he just wants to play.

The air is not hot yet though the dew has already left for the day.  My small hydroponic garden of herbs, a single bell pepper plant and a cherry tomato plant all stand to their fullest as they have just received their morning watering.  I’m growing lemon basil, German oregano, a bit of rosemary too.   This is in addition to the normal hydroponic planters that I already had growing this year with two tomato plants in each (they are much larger tomatoes)(two Big Boys and two Better Boys).

There are a number of flowers adorning various locations all over the house and yard.  Splashes of red here and there in pots and in the ground, my bright yellow ‘Black-eyed Susan’s and the bed of day lilies.  Pinks and purples, and adorning grasses.  Variegated Elephant-ears and Canna-lilies, Encore Azaleas and much more all work to give spice to this small patch of earth I like to call home.  Much work has been done around here this year to simply change things and beautify.  So much to do and so little time.  This is in addition to all of the work being done to get the rental house ready.  Yard work is a constant when you have two houses to look after not to mention the work involved in just updating and renovating.

Then there is tennis.  Add to that a night or two on the town from time to time, the regular work schedule, and enough time to sleep now and again and you don’t have much time for anything else it seems.  Yet, here I am, enjoying the morning with my cup of coffee in hand, just taking in the sunlight, breathing in the air, enjoying all of life going on around me, wishing I was just a bit younger so that I could do even more.

I feel that I am one of the lucky ones though.  I know there are those that right now are in the hospital fighting for another breath.  There are those that are my kindred, not by blood, but simply by being human that are starving somewhere not knowing where their next meal will come from or even worse, where their child’s next meal would come from.  There are those that are having to deal with a loss of one kind or another.  Maybe they’ve lost a loved one or maybe they’ve lost everything they owned.  Either way, I know and feel that there is suffering all around me and I wish that I could do more to help.  But I also am aware that suffering will continue all around and I am powerless to stop it.

The good news here is that there are also others that are enjoying the same things I am and maybe even more.  I can also see those that are waking up to a morning on the beach or on a cruise just rising and getting things together to go off the boat and onto shore to enjoy some swimming in crystal clear but blue water with white sand and palm trees all around.  Basking in the beauty around them.  Some even live in this environment.  What a wonder to behold.  I know.  I’ve seen it.  I’ve been there.  I loved it and will love it and enjoy it again if I get the chance.

Life is not always easy.  It really seldom is easy but it really shouldn’t be easy anyway.  It takes struggle to grow.  It takes trials and troubles to temper the soul.  It takes pain and grief and heartache to give the spirit of a person the ability to truly feel the joy of life in all of it’s glory and splendor.  It is the pain that gives understanding and appreciation for what is actually real and has worth.  Gold is purified by fire.  So are we.

Even so, someone today will feel a loss while another will find the joy.  Someone’s life will fade away and another family will revel in the joy of the birth of a new child.  Hearts will break today and others will find the love of their life.

Life is good.  The winds will blow and the waters will cascade down over the cliffs into rushing streams.  The birds sing and the beatles crawl.  The moon will show it’s light again tonight and the sun will rise in the morning.  Life goes on.

Author: memman

Too much to tell. There is more than what is seen on the surface of any man. Some have more layers than others. I have many.

Leave a Reply

