finer things of life


It is dark outside right now.  There is a light on the back deck glistening off of the remnants of snow left from a snowfall on Christmas day that hasn’t happened in over a 120 years.  I sit in the family room in front of the fireplace on the couch enjoying the lights of the Christmas tree now empty of presents just opened a couple of days ago.  The fire is mesmerizing as the flames of yellow and blue softly flutter over orange embers.  The cats lay sleeping with no care.  The dog too sleeps next to the fire enjoying the heat.

My heart is full.  No hunger.  Not for physical, emotional, or spiritual.  I’ve enjoyed the blessings of family, of food, of drink, friends, of conversation, and yes, even of the cold and snow.  Personally, I like the cold.  It makes the air so crisp.

The finer things are not the gifts I have gotten though friends and family have given me much.  More than I could have asked.  The finer things are the warmth of love.  The pleasure of a warm fire while sitting with those I love.

It is not what you get.  It is what you give.  In fact, you get more from giving than you do from getting anything physical.

The finer things are not so much “things” at all.  The finer things are above and beyond all “things” received.

It takes a long time to recognize what is important in life.  Even life itself is a mystery to each of us.  Understanding is critical and sometimes fleeting.  Often it takes learning the same thing over and over before you get it and even then you may forget if you are not on guard or don’t take the time to remember.  That is a little confusing to some.  How can you forget to remember?  Most often I have found that it is when I get too busy to take the time to stop and remember.  Remembering what those finer things are.  Remembering to take the time necessary to enjoy what it is that is the finer thing.

Thank you to all of you, my friends.  Thank you for being a finer thing in my life.  Thank you for your love.  Thank you for your acceptance.  Thank you for just being who you are.

I hope that you will take a few minutes for yourself to enjoy the finer things this season.

Author: memman

Too much to tell. There is more than what is seen on the surface of any man. Some have more layers than others. I have many.

Leave a Reply

