A year of change


This past year saw several changes for me.  Some good and some not so good as I’m sure it has been for you.  This economy has taken a toll on many of my friends and on many more that I don’t even know.  Some have said that all we got was change.  No dollars.  Just change.  My pocket feels that way many times.  Still, I seem to be one of the less challenged in this area as I DO have a job and haven’t lost too much as yet though next year I will see a cut in pay due to more “change” going on where I am employed.

Today I count my blessings.  Not just for the good that has happened in my life but also for what some would consider the bad.  I’ve gone through some very rough times this past year.  I’d still have to say that this year has been an extremely good year.  Especially in comparison to last year but still very good in anyone’s eyes.  Anyone’s that has looked for what I have looked for.

I’m fortunate to have met many people over the last two years.  Again, some good and some not so good.  But I digress.  I’ve been hurt, I’ve been lifted up, I’ve enjoyed the gift of friendship in some and lost at love with others.  Yet, I’ve also found a friend that now has become that special one I intend to spend the rest of my life with.  We became friends first though.  I’m very happy about that.

This blog is intended to acknowledge all of my friendships.  Those that have come and those that have gone.  This is also intended to express to anyone that is still looking that you DO still have time.  The world has not ended and there is nothing so great that you can not afford to make the move to meet and find that special someone for your life.  It DOES take you making a move.  Don’t expect to FIND someone if you sit at home all the time.  They don’t magically show up at your door.  You have to present yourself as available and also take some risks.  Yes…  It is a risk.  It IS worth it.

Just as a side…  Yes… We are engaged.  No… we haven’t set a date.  We want to enjoy being engaged for a while.

Other changes…

I’ve learned even more about how to cook.  This seems to also be a year of DIY.  I made Scalloped Potatoes last night (yes from scratch).  And they were good!!  I’ve also been working on a cat condo.  No… no plans.  No instructions.  Not even from the web.  This is not store-bought.  It is being built from my own imagination.  It has been a bit fun.  It has also been somewhat of a challenge.  One I happen to enjoy anyway.

Anyway, I’ve had some changes.  I’ve enjoyed some and learned from others.  Not just the changes.  The people.  Really, that is what it is all about anyway.  People!  Relationships!  I learn or have learned from them all.

Right now I need to get back to that cat condo.  Not finished yet.  I’m enjoying the sunshine, the little bit of cool outside, good rock on the radio, being able to buy a few things for family for Christmas, cooking a bit, and just the ability to relax at the end of a very exciting year of change.

I do hope your year was good.  If not, may you have a wonderful year next year.  In the end, it all works out to be a good thing.  Really it does.

Your friend,

Dan

Author: memman

Too much to tell. There is more than what is seen on the surface of any man. Some have more layers than others. I have many.

2 thoughts on “A year of change”

    1. Thank you Pam. All the best to you and yours as well. Especially in this Season. I’m looking forward to “BUYING” a copy of your book when it comes out though I will want it signed (if you don’t mind). You too have been and remain a friend. Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

