thinking right – controversial


Seems simple enough.  Just think right.  But what is right?

It was a simple statement.  A colleague was working with another colleague.  They were discussing actions and statements made by some other individual that at least one of them had been in contact with.  One of them said “you can’t expect someone worldly to think right like a Christian.”

Now I’m not normally one to “go off” on someone for something as insignificant as a statement of that sort but for some reason it just struck me wrong that day.  No… I didn’t blast him with both barrels.  I just started asking probing questions.     Q’s are my questions to them.  A’s are their answers to me. I might add that they didn’t always agree with each other.

Q: So do you think “Christians” think right?

A: Yes

Q: Do ONLY Christians think right?

A: In my way of thinking… yes

Q: What constitutes a “Christian” in your book?

A: Believing in Jesus

Q: What book do you use as your foundation for this belief?

A: The Bible

Q: Which one or who’s?

A: What?

Q: What “Bible” do you use?

A: There is only one Bible.

Q: OK…  Which Bible are we talking about?  The King James Bible?  The Koran?  The Jehovah’s Witness, the Mormon, the Catholic Bible…

A1: Oh… I use the King James or the New King James.  A2: I use The Living Bible.

Q:  Ok…  So why is your Bible make your thinking right?

A:  Because it is the inerrant Word of God.

I think I’m going to stop what we talked about from here on out.  I think you get the picture.  I don’t think the rest needs to be written.

All I can say is…  before you go thinking you have the all the answers, check your sources.  I’ve heard all the hype.  Seen all the shows.  Been in the play.  Know all the closers.  If you think you are right you are probably wrong.  If you have the guts, if you can really be honest with yourself, if you want to know the truth, look deeper.  It isn’t what you hear on TV.  If you ever find the truth it will change your life.  Maybe then, just maybe, you’ll be thinking right. (or maybe not – you be the judge)

Note:  Concerning what most call the Bible…  Wikipedia has listed over 95 complete versions of the Christian Bible in the English Language alone.  That does not count 26 partial versions and 16 portions also translated into English.  The earliest manuscripts are from the 3rd and 4th centuries.  Much of what we have was translated from the Latin Vulgate and not from the original Greek or Hebrew.  During the era in which the Bible was written, less than 1% of the population knew how to read or write.  You could be considered a scribe if you knew how to write your name.  All books were made by hand, copied by hand, word for word, in a text that had no spaces.

“Be who you are.  Its the first step to becoming better than you are.”

“Where-ever you go, there you are.”

“You are what you think you are.”

Just be.

Author: memman

Too much to tell. There is more than what is seen on the surface of any man. Some have more layers than others. I have many.

1 thought on “thinking right – controversial”

  1. You’re right.

    Thanks for opening the conversation with your friend. It’s tough to think that persons who want to be good can be so close-minded. I don’t have all the answers, but I think that’s a good place for me to start in any spiritual journey.

    Might see you on the path down the road.

    michael j
    Conshohocken, PA USA

Leave a Reply

