One thing leads to another


Once upon a time, long, long ago, in a land so fair and bright, there lived a young boy, eager to please, full of life, excited about each day, loving music, enjoying High School, friends, the pleasures of the beach and sun and riding his motorcycle and knowing how the world was just waiting on him in so many ways.  The people he knew were honest, forthright, true, believable, trustworthy, and did what they said they would do.

Ok…  Ok…  It wasn’t THAT long ago.  It seems like it.  I was a teenager (a lot of years ago to me).  All of the above “seemed” to be true.  Well, ok, no it didn’t.  Even as a teen with life abounding… ok… so life sucked as a teen too (not all of it).  Why?  Because people lie.  Little did I know that those years were so much just the beginning.  When you are that age, 30, 40, 50, 60 or older seems so far away.

The song referenced above was written by “The Fixx” and was written years AFTER I was a teen (released in 1983) but certainly encompasses how I felt even when I was young.

Why can’t people do what they say and say what they mean?  Why can’t people live like they expect other people to live?  Why can’t truth be the mantra?  Why can’t people express themselves openly and truthfully to others?

Why?  Because, like the famous line by Jack Nicholson from the 1992 movie “A Few Good Men” – – – “You can’t handle the truth!”  This is not directed at YOU in specific.  That is a general thing.  People really can’t handle the truth in most cases.  At least they don’t really want to deal with the truth.  Add to that the fact that there is vulnerability in expressing the truth and you have a cocktail for an explosive reaction by the party receiving the truth.

Someone asked me recently why I never became a minister.  It is pretty plain and simple.  People could not handle what I would like to say.  I say “what I would like to say” here because, there is no way I would say what I really want to say even now to everyone.   Until I sell a book or win the lottery or some rich relative dies and leaves me all their money (hard to do if you don’t have any rich relatives), I seriously doubt that I will ever be able to say all of what I would like to say to the whole world.  Quite honestly, you just couldn’t handle it.

I will say that I am at a stage in my life where I am tired of the rat race.  Did you ever realize that, even if you are winning the rat race, you are still a rat?  Did it occur to you that, even if you are on the right track, if you stand still or even slow down you will get run over?

Part of the problem is that people still don’t recognize that they keep doing the same things expecting something different and getting the same results (definition of insanity).  They run from “themselves” and find that they can’t get away.    A Clint Black song says it best and I’d have to credit my close friend for having mentioned it to me before (song not referenced).  “Where ever you go… there you are.”  Don’t run.  Face yourself.  Know yourself.

More importantly, make it a habit that you always tell the truth.  Do what you say and say what you mean.  Make sure you are always true.  Especially to yourself.

One more thing I need to say.

So far as all close relationships are concerned.

Communication is key.  You can’t hold everything in.  You can’t allow yourself to hold things in that concern you.  They won’t go away (those concerns).  This doesn’t mean you need to blurt out what is on your mind.  Think before you speak.  Speak with kindness to others.  But speak you must.  Clearly (very important – make sure they understand) and truthfully.   Don’t wait too long or you will lose the opportunity.

Do what you say.  Say what you mean.  One thing leads to another.

Author: memman

Too much to tell. There is more than what is seen on the surface of any man. Some have more layers than others. I have many.

2 thoughts on “One thing leads to another”

  1. Thank you… for allowing me to speak the truth, patiently wait while I find the words, ask questions, help me dig and supporting me while I go through this change. Protection for those you love is not necessarily protection is it. I’m learning. Great blog by the way!:-)

  2. Ok Dan, now seriously! All I can say is, I hope you don’t have any perfectionists reading this blog.
    I mean, here they are, trying their absolute best to make it through each and every day without a mistake, in order not to crumble in devastation, losing hope that they will ever be good enough.
    And here comes Dan’s blog… revealing that they are all a bunch of liars, completely lacking in honesty with themselves or able to express themselves openly and truthfully to others. They are incapable of saying what they mean or meaning what they say. And even if they really wanted to, they would never be able to handle the truth. All they are, is a rat, running in a never ending, useless rat race… endlessly and uselessly doing the same things over and over, expecting a different result, thereby forever proving their own insanity, by expecting that different result, but always achieving the same doomed result… forever rats… incapable of anything more, for all eternity!

    Dan really! How insensitive! (Ok Dan, I know you’re smiling right now, even though perfectionists everywhere may well be heading for a cliff to jump off of!)

    However, the points you make… of course, are quite valid. Yes, on that we agree!

    So why is it then, that just as valid… is the hope, that under the surface of all the evidence we witness, day in and day out, there still lies a hidden truth that will rise from the depths, which trumps all evidence to the contrary. And why in the world would such a truth remain hidden to this degree, over such a long period of time?
    Surely the answer to both of these lies within the same story.

    We will see.

    How do I know?

    From glimmers.

    I believe we are all provided with glimmers, a kind of intuition, without which we would be unable to recognize truth when we see it. Even if just a partial truth, there is still a “ring” to it when a nail gets hit on the head. There is still an expansion of light and color when a “light bulb comes on”, or illumined clarity when the “fog clears”.

    Sometimes all of this can sound so abstract. But when that recognition occurs within us, as it does so often, on such a large scale that it cannot be coincidence, then it is hard to deny that there is something built in to us… into our very DNA… sending us messages.

    Why are there moments when we are moved to tears by a piece of art? What is it exactly that causes a “shiver” to run down our spine? Or gives us “goose bumps” at the sound of maybe a song or a phrase uttered by a friend… or an enemy? What is all this, if not an unseen force built into our bodies, living in the very cells of our body, giving us undeniable evidence, that there is more to all of this than meets the eye. And of THAT… we can be sure!

Leave a Reply

