under the surface


Note:  If you click on the particular topic you can rate that blog topic.

Note:  Comments by readers do not necessarily reflect my views.  However, I prefer to offer those views to everyone if possible.  Just try to keep the language in check.  If it is vulgar or racist or otherwise in extreme poor taste, don’t be surprised if it doesn’t get posted.  I’m not opposed to posting comments that “could offend.”  Just those that intentionally hurt others.

It has been said that men are very simple.  I’ve often said that I am not one of those men that are simple.  I tend to be more complex.  However, I feel that, in truth, all men are complex as are women.  None of us are simple.  We all have many layers.  Yes, some are more complicated than others, I’d agree.  Still, none of us are really simple.  We may think that we are.  We are not.

I started writing this before some things happened to me today but the things that have happened confirm what I am saying.  You can not fully understand very much of what is going on in the mind of someone else unless you know them very well.  And even then, even if you do, even if you are very close, there are still things that can not be read or understood.  There is just too much there to grasp it all.  So far as what happened, I will keep those things to myself.  Much of what I will write will have absolutely nothing to do with today other than thoughts I wrote down prior to those events.  But the events did prove my point.

A friend and I were talking today at work and some of this came up.

Many times people do things and don’t even know why they did them themselves.  They don’t even know themselves well enough to know the reason behind, the root of the reason, for what they do (sometimes).  I’m not talking about everything they do.   Just some of them.  Much of the time what a person does is out of reaction.  Reaction to things that have been buried deep within the psyche and hidden so that no-one can find it.  Not even the person who is hiding whatever.  Well, the person hiding the “whatever” really can find it if they want, but that is why they buried it in the first place.  They don’t want to find/face the whatever.  It may be too hard to bear.  But it is still there.  Effecting them whether they want it to or not.  Whether they admit it, own up to it, face it, or not.

My father used to tell me “believe ¼ of what you hear and only ½ of what you see.”  He gave me a lot of good stuff.

We all filter everything through our own filter that has been created by our own experiences throughout our life.  Each and every one of us has our own baggage and every one of us is different and so our baggage is different.  We each have some idea of what we think we are.  Most of us are severely wrong.  Most of us don’t know ourselves very well.  We want to think we do, but we don’t.  Let’s face it, it is a scary proposition to know thyself.  That means you have to face your flaws.  Something none of us wants to do and expend  great deal of effort to not do.  The end result is that we can never grow past that problem until we face it head on.

This is not supposed to be a blog about how screwed up we all are.  Actually, we are not.  Yes we have our faults, but, we have many good points as well.  Many more good than bad in most cases.  We just have more difficulty with the parts we don’t like or want.  That doesn’t make us broken.  That doesn’t make us un-fit.  Just different.  I have to go back to that quote I mentioned in another blog.  Be what you are.  That is the first step in becoming better than you are.

During Spring Break, I stood on the balcony of the condo I was in and took in the view.  It was early in the morning.  Still a little dark out but the sun was beginning to come up enough that it was just starting to turn light.  I looked out over the water and gazed at the horizon.  I turned my head to look down the beach as far as I could see.  I then turned the other way and looked as far down that way as I could.  It was fairly clear this particular morning and the view seemed almost endless.

Time of day does not match statement
Again.. Time does not match statement

I began to think on how large it all was and how small each of us is in comparison when you think of us on a physical level.  The vastness of the cosmos began to come to mind.  Standing on that balcony, 20 floors up, the earth looked so big.  Then my mind wandered to how large our solar system is.  How large our galaxy with millions of stars with some of them dwarfing our own star.  And to think ours is only one (and a small one at that) of millions of galaxies.

It would seem to make us very insignificant.  Funny I didn’t feel insignificant.  I don’t now.  With all that is, with all that has been or will be, in my mind…  I matter.  Others matter to me too.  We are all a part of this.  We are all a part of the whole.  Each of us matter.  Each is important.  There is much under the surface of each of us just as there is much under the surface of the water or the ground.  Each of us has much to learn.  Each of us has much to give.  It is in the giving of ourselves that we will learn the most about ourselves and be able to give more and learn more and on and on and on.

Uncover a layer.  Look beneath the surface.  Find what is true.  Find what is of value.  In fact, look deep to find the most priceless things.  True treasure awaits those that look deeper.  If you find a flaw, keep looking deeper.  It may surprise you how precious the find.  Both you and those around you are worth the look.  It is worth the effort to look under the surface.

Author: memman

Too much to tell. There is more than what is seen on the surface of any man. Some have more layers than others. I have many.

2 thoughts on “under the surface”

  1. Ok Dan, I think this would be my new favorite entry of yours!
    And here’s why.
    You have highlighted here, I think one of the great mysteries of life. To recognize, at any given moment, that neither you, nor the person you are talking to, is ever fully aware of the depth of who we really are. And the “routine” of interactions we have with others, is such a small part of who we really are, that in truth, the things we may spend much energy “feeling bad” about, are irrelevant in the face of who we are. THAT which resides “under the surface” as you say, is the only real treasure life has to offer. Those who have ventured as such, I believe find this more and more to be so. Even though such a venture means… moving in the direction of feelings we do not understand. Strange feelings… even primitive or primal feelings.
    Even though such territory feels dangerous. And may well be dangerous for most people, because it is the part of ourselves that stores the parts of our lives which we were unable to face at one time… and might still be… depending on the individual. But that is the nature of the life we are in. Danger lurks. And in the big picture that is part of what adds the spark of vitality to “abundant living”.
    Our heart beat is a vibration that keeps us alive all day and night, which we have nothing to do with. At least the “we” on the surface, that we see ourselves to be. But there is a deeper part of us intimately aware of that heartbeat, as well as the function of every other organ, and how critical those things are in the big picture. Because as you say Dan, in the big picture, each one of us… matters! And THAT Dan (as small as we are on the pictures you’ve provided) is a miracle that I can only know to be true, because of how it rings as true to me as if I said: “I am breathing, thinking, and responding to your blog right now.”

Leave a Reply

