no pain, no gain

EDIT:   The wise person reads the comments. The reason being that much of what I learn comes from others.  Thank you to those that comment.  I appreciate and learn from you.

A cliche that I’m very sure you have heard.  But did you really hear it?  Does it really only have to do with working out, getting a hard body, being physically fit, losing weight, or otherwise related to the physical?

I recently read an article about how GPSs have hindered the user from learning a route to a given location simply because it gave every turn and left the user of the GPS with no need to really think.  Thinking requires that the “thinker” actually do something even if only in their head.  Brain strain if you will.  The lack of which leaves the brain less strained and thus less used and thus less over all.

I’d have to say that I agree with this article at least to some level.  That is not to say that it is wrong to use a GPS or that they do not serve a purp0se.  They do.  I would be remiss if I did not have my GPS.  Why?  I do computer work.  I go to new locations all the time.  There was a time when I used Google Maps or Mapquest to map my destination to my new clients.  Often I would get way back in some subdivision and do the necessary work and then have difficulty trying to find my way back out.  The difficulty was in trying to read directions in reverse order and reverse the turn directions at the same time and all while trying to drive.  Not the best idea.  Add to that the fact that many times I would get to the location while it was still light and then have to leave in the dark.  If it rained or was foggy, it just added that many more levels of difficulty to the already hazardous trip.  Not good.

Needless to say, I’m very happy to have a GPS at my disposal.  It normally leads me to my intended client quickly and gets me out of difficult travel scenarios when needed.  Even my GPS makes stupid mistakes sometimes.  It decides that I need to go further down a road and make some kind of circle turn (turn left at…, turn left at… turn left at… = a right turn).  That is a bit frustrating at times.  Still it is a useful tool for me.  But not all the time.

The premise of the article was that a lack of “brain strain” causes the brain not to work and thus not be “physically fit” so to speak.  “No pain = no gain.”

This can be related to emotional development as well.  If someone, let’s say a child, never has to work for anything, it is very likely that they will never acquire the appreciation for what they have.  If someone never goes through any tough times in a love relationship, it is likely they will not appreciate what they have.  Hardship and struggle are needful in order to grow.  From a physical, mental, and emotional aspect.  I’d even go so far as to state that it would take some spiritual struggle to grow spiritually as well.  Those that have never struggled with their spiritual beliefs most likely do not know what they believe.

Have you ever really struggled with a belief?  Have you challenged what you believe to be true?  Have you been challenged on a belief and had to defend it not knowing if it was really correct or not?  Did you challenge yourself to find out what truth was real?

How about emotionally?  Yes.  Everyone goes through emotional challenges and struggles.  For some, the most difficult time is during puberty.  Others of us have emotional struggles that we go through later in life that can tax our emotional strength to its limits.  Loss of job, money, friend, family member, lover, marriage (divorce), or other such challenges can be either a moment of defeat or of victory.  A moment when someone can be trodden down beyond any hope of recovery or of growth beyond dreams.

There are always different sides to the situation.  Different possibilities.  Choices can be and are made that can elevate or devastate.  Some choices are our own.  Some are made by others for us.  It is not what happens to us that matters.  It is how we respond to what happens to us that either kills us or helps us grow.  Either way….  No pain = No gain!