words, feelings, value, life


Words:

They are evil.

Maybe the most evil thing ever created.

They are supposed to help us communicate. They are supposed to give us the ability to relay to someone else what we know, understand, or feel.

They don’t.

Particulary and especially where it concerns feeling but not just that area.

Words cause conflict often. Much of the time it is due to a misinterpretation of or misunderstanding of the word or words chosen to convey the thought. Some problems come as a result of the concept of a particular word due to language barriers, culture, or religious undertones associated with a given word. Basically, it boils down to understanding or rather the lack thereof.

And yet, it is what we have. They CAN be used for good. Yes. I know.

Words are really nothing. Words are nothing without meaning. Meaning gives words value. And it takes value away when meaning changes or totally obliterates it.

If a “Promise” is kept, it’s value is great and true. If anywhere along any line at any time any promise is not kept, the word “promise” has lost it’s value as all things promised then come into doubt. It has no value from that day on.

In a previous marriage, my wife of that time often said “We” to me. “We need to cut the grass.” “We need to fertalize.” “We need to fix this or that.” “We need to get up early.” What she meant was I, me, the writer of this blog, need to do this or that or the other thing. She had no intention of getting up early or cutting grass or fixing the car or… well you get the picture. The word “We” had no real meaning. Well… that is except to her. That meaning to her was that I, her husband, WAS the “We.” Value change.

“Love” – common. Too easy. Are you kidding. That word has been so muddled it’s pathetic. Do you see? Do you understand? Is it becoming clearer?

Feeling(s):

All people have them. Some more than others.

Not really. All people have them equally. It isn’t a matter of “IF” someone has feeling(s). It is a matter of how much they allow themselves to expose the fact that they do HAVE them. Even if that exposure has to do with their allowing themselves to expose their own feelings to themselves. That last sentence is the most difficult for most poeople to do. Exposing themselves to their own feelings or rather allowing themselves to actually feel.

Some people have found ways to become hardened to things. It may be due to their past experience. In fact that is most likely the case. It may have a lot to do with how they were raised or what happened to them early in their childhood. No matter how or what the cause… it effects every area of their life. Feeling is critical. Feeling is essential. Feeling is the doorway to the essance of being. I say that because you can not progress to a level of concious being until you learn to master the art of observing your feelings and how that impacts your thought(s).

Value:

Of what?

Of anything. Of everything.

In truth. There is none. No value to anything. And yet… value all things have. (Bear with my wording please. It does have purpose.)

The value of anything, physical, mental, emotional, or spiritual, is in the hands/heart/mind/or being of the one in who’s hands/heart/mind/or being is holding it. We all place a value on any and all that comes into our lives.

Life:

Life itself only has value based on the actual meaning of the words we choose to convey what we feel. I’d rather “get it” as a meaning than to hear the word or words. The meaning is what has the value to me. The meaning of life, to me, is in the experience of being. Not in existance. But rather in its essence. To experience the meaning rather than to hear a feable attempt to convey what ultimately will fall profoundly short of conveying what nothing truly can express in audible or writen form.

Author: memman

Too much to tell. There is more than what is seen on the surface of any man. Some have more layers than others. I have many.

5 thoughts on “words, feelings, value, life”

  1. When I first read this I saw only anger, bitterness and sorrow. But now after reading it several times I see truth. I love your message: “Feeling is the doorway to the essance of being. ”

    As for me I try to remember and live by this: Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trust, always hopes, always perserves. Love never fails….
    And know these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is LOVE.

    Keep up the good work Dan.

  2. Thank you, Elaine, for taking the time to look deeper than the surface. Few people do that. I wonder how many others will venture just that little bit further. Thank you for your kind comment and thoughts. And on matters of the heart & love… it would appear that we are kindred spirits. Truth wins. 🙂

  3. You know it’s funny. This is something I often think about. In the times when I am most “attuned” to what someone is trying to “tell” me… I find myself watching facial expression, body language and listening to tone of voice, more so than listening to the content of the words. Have you ever seen someone be accused of “being mad” who did not want to “be seen” as being mad, and they raise their voice, face turns red, and maybe hit their fist on a table and say “I’m not mad!!”
    I’m not sure I can count the number of people I have seen do that. But one thing it tells me is that if there is a discrepancy between what someone’s WORDS are telling me, and what their body signals are telling me, then 100% of the time I know which of those is speaking closer to the truth.
    Consequently that is what I attune myself to, and I may even tune out what their words are saying altogether, to best respond… or back off, when needed… to “hear”(or perceive) what I believe they are really “calling for”. I do see that as a kind of emotional cry for help. I think even people in an agitated state such as that, underneath appreciate people able to recognize the truth about where they are, and might even help them see the truth about themselves more clearly. I believe they can feel if someone “responds” in a way that results in them feeling “heard”… even if that person “listening” didn’t really “DO” anything.
    I know people who are very good at accepting me just the way I am… and being around them helps me… even if it is subtle… to better accept myself…
    And every stride I make in better accepting myself, flaws and all, I become that much less judging of others, I think because I am that much more able to see how someone else could have come to be where they are, even if their WORDS are lying to me. I become able to see how that might happen to others when I understand how things have happened to me.
    I just works.
    Not sure why.

  4. Here’s another thought:

    To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything, and your heart will certainly be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact, you must give your heart to no one, not even to an animal. Wrap it up careful round with hobbies and little luxuries, avoid all entanglements, lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket-safe, dark, motionless, airless- it will change. It will not be broken, it will become unbreakable,impenetrable, irredeemable… The only place outside Heaven where you can be perfectly safe from all the dangers …of love is Hell. (C.S. Lews, the Four Loves)

Leave a Reply

