thankful today


While I do like to write the darker stuff it seems, this morning I feel quite different.

As I began slowly rowsing out of my peaceful slumber this morning, I was greeted by the glow of bright sunlight shimmering off of the leaves of the trees across the street.  Yellows, browns, some greens, and of course a flash of light from the sun bouncing off of a windshield of a passing car from time to time.

The air was cool enough that I didn’t want to actually get my very warm body out from under the covers that I had so snugly tucked myself under.  I just took it all in.  Allowed myself the pleasure of just relaxing.  Something I seldom get to do except on weekends.  Such a far cry from the daily rude awakening of the alarm clock crying out for me to pry myself out of bed to face a cold morning and the hustle and bustle of every day life.

No, today was a bit different.  I awoke refreshed and renewed.  Pleased with the beauty of nature just outside.  Makes one glad to be alive.  Glad to be in a warm place.  Thankful for that warmth and shelter.  Thankful for sight to see the beauty of nature.  Thankful for so many things.  Too many to enumerate here.

Yes.  It is a day to be thankful for.  I guess that every day should be a “thankful” type day.  It is a good thing if you are even just able to get up.  Many can’t.  It is a good thing if you have a place to stay even if it isn’t your own.  Just having shelter is a blessing.  So many people don’t have that.  Warmth and comfort.  Another of those things to be thankful for.  Food in the belly.  I am so blessed to have the things I need.  It makes me feel for those that don’t.

I have my health.  At least as good as it is.  Better than many my age.  I know a number of people that are going through things with regard to their health.  Everything from weight problems to hate problems.  From cancellations to cancer.  From diabetes to depression.  From hair loss to the loss of a loved one.  So many things that could be going on in my life that are not going on today.

Like everyone else, I’ve had my share of problems.  My share of pain and misery.  Today is not that day.  At least not yet.  For now, I just want to be thankful.  Thankful that the day has started out with beauty.  With pleasure of what I have to be thankful for.  Even something so simple as that great cup of coffee I just had before writing this.

I think we should all be thankful.  Thankful for little things.  Thankful for the love of family if that is something you have even if just from one.  Thankful for friends if you are fortunate enough to have at least one.  Thankful for kindness of those that you don’t even know that can come from nowhere to brighten your day.  Thankful for all goodness around you.  You CAN even be thankful for rain when it comes if you look at it the right way.  You can be thankful for pain if you realize that even that pain is something that is good.  Good because it notifies you that you are alive or that there is something that needs attention.  Without it (pain) you may not ever know there is or was a problem.  So it too can be a good thing.

It is not what is happening to you that causes good or bad.  It is how you respond or react to it that gives to you or takes away from you.  Much of life is choice.  Yours.

Author: memman

Too much to tell. There is more than what is seen on the surface of any man. Some have more layers than others. I have many.

4 thoughts on “thankful today”

  1. After a very long bleak cold winter..this weekend was the beginning of spring or so it seemed. Thanks for sharing what we all know in our hearts but need to be reminded of often.

Leave a Reply

